Robminx's Blog

A LOVELY LADY LETTING LOOSE!!!

The Sexy “Up” side of Depression…a Journey back from the dark edge… March 30, 2010

HELLO, HELLO, HELLO, TO ANYONE OUT THERE STILL LISTENING FOR THE TEMPORARILY SILENCED VOICE OF “ROBMINX!” I’VE BEEN ON A HIATUS OF SORTS. YOU SEE, ROBMINX SUFFERS WITH SEVERE OR MAJOR DEPRESSION. SOMETIMES I EAT THE BEAR, SOMETIMES THE DANG DEPRESSIVE BEAR EATS ME; OR RATHER EATS AT ME. I HAD A VERY ROUGH, STRESSFUL SEASON I’VE HAD TO WALK THROUGH AND WHOO…I’M ON MY WAY BACK, SLOWLY BUT SURELY!!!

In the midst of the funky feeling season, I did still write, but hated everything I wrote. If I used paper instead of the PC, my floor and room would be overrun with little balls of failure. But thank God for the PC, because I’m not so quick to delete my work as much as I would, if I were penning it with my own tired fingers. So as I check, check, and re-check my work, I’ll release the rest of my 2010 One-A-Day Poem Series, and some other stuff too.

In the meantime, I’d like to share with you what else has held my attention and became a deliciously interesting and naughty diversion; the weird world of online dating… Ok. so how did that happen Mz. Minx? Well glad you asked. I’d be happy to tell you about  it!

In the process of writing my first book, “Pimp Daddy In The Pulpit,” one of my pivotal characters wanders into the world of online dating with unforeseen consequences…So to give my lovely, devoted readers an authentic view of the characters experience…I had to do real time research. I’ve learned so very much in this journey that took me to a place of deep self examination. All this while battling the dreaded Depression Bear. Strange thing about it is, it helped to pull me out of this particular depressive episode, much sooner than I’m accustomed to.

You see, I’ve battled for years with depression; many of those lonely years undiagnosed, and untreated. What brought me to seek help was that last straw of intolerable stress after my nephew’s suicide in 2008. This on top of the tremendous life altering circumstance of being a Hurricane Katrina Survivor/Evacuee, from New Orleans bus transported to Dallas, after 6 horrible days in the Super Dome…Phew!!! And struggling through strained marital issues to boot; All while raising and dealing with the ups and downs of six teenagers!!! Do you hear me now???

So an old schoolmate sends me an invitation to this social networking/dating site I won’t name, and I accept the invitation, because I don’t realize what it is at the time. You know how it is when you’re fairly new to how all this online scene works, and you get and accept invites to all kinds of stuff, until you realize how wasteful, time consuming, and draining it all can become.

So I join the site and start getting these strange sort of email alerts from this one and that one, with complimentary comments, about the same pic I have posted on my blog site. Now, mind you I’m not logging on regularly to this site but all this traffic starts to come to my email. At first, I’m ignoring and deleting all of these email alerts, wondering what the heck is going on. Then one day one came through that apparently caught my attention and I checked it out. I really can’t tell you at this point what the gateway email was that pulled me in, there has been too much activity since then to say which one or who. But there I was Mrs. Married, with six kids, and been with her hubby for 25yrs, smack dab in da middle of ” a whole new world!”

To be continued….Soon I promise!

Robminx

 

6 Responses to “The Sexy “Up” side of Depression…a Journey back from the dark edge…”

  1. Trueman Says:

    Good to see you back. You’re in a whole new world. Have fun exploring it…

  2. Armond Says:

    Never let anything or anyone have dominion over your soul. Learn to let go so you can get the proverbial monkey off your back!!! Stay strong!!!

  3. Lynda Says:

    I believe my son (your nephew) had what is known as “Dysphoric Mania”. Untreated means sure death.
    If you can find the ‘entrance’ of the ‘darkness’ then you can close the door to be tormented no more.
    Remember, “SEEK and you SHALL find”.

    Love, Lynda

    • robminx Says:

      Wow! Lynda, my dear big sister it took me a while to respond because I had to catch my breath. Our talk clarified some things for me and I’m grateful you called. This issue of Depression, is so prevalent in our culture today. The problem is, it takes too many of us to long to seek out the much needed help that is available to us. Thank you so much dear for your support and encouragement. I’m blessed to have a big Sis as wonderful as you. I love you Lynda.
      Lil Rob


Leave a Reply

 
